First Time Visiting Brothers
Visiting Brothers are always welcome! Our Lodge meets the first and third Thursday of the month at 7:00pm (1900 hrs. for us military folks) unless otherwise posted. First-time visiting Brothers are requested to be at the lodge at least fifteen minutes early to undergo the customary examination. Our Lodge is located within the confines of Fort Leavenworth. If this is your first time visiting a military base, you may be stopped and be required to show proper identification and proof of insurance at the gate. This is only required due to Department of Defense security requirements. Bring a current dues card and fear not! The examination is very straight-forward and simple. We prefer to be inclusive rather than exclusive. Please come and visit!
Special communications and changes to the schedule will be posted on the homepage.
History of Hancock Lodge
Hancock Lodge No. 311, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas was formed under dispensation from the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, A. F. & A. M. of Kansas on 15 May 1888. The appointed officers were:
Worshipful Master – Carle A. Woodruff
Senior Warden – Thomas W. Barry
Junior Warden – Charles Page
Treasurer – Asher T. Taylor
Secretary – Frank E. Collis
Original Charter Members:
Thomas W. Barry, John Black, Alton H. Budlong, William O. Cary, Frank E. Collis, Aaron I. Comfort, William Dillon, Charles Dodge, Jr., Miles Doran, Carl C. Evenson, Walter L. Finley, George S. Hoyt, William N. Hughes, James A. Irons, Jacob Kline, Louis M. Koehler, Carl Koops, Frank D. Lauer, Daniel Lemay, Charles Page, Carl Reichmann, James Salmon, Asher C. Taylor, Howard H. Von Falkenstein, George Wentzel, James E. Wilson, Carl A. Woodruff
The Lodge was regularly chartered on 20 February 1889. The Lodge was consecrated, dedicated and constituted in due form 5 May 1889 by Most Worshipful Bestor G. Brown, special Deputy Grand Master, pursuant to a commission from Geroge C. Kenyon, The Most Worshipful Grand Master of The Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, A. F. & A. M. of Kansas. The new Lodge was named for MG Winfield Scott Hancock.
Hancock Lodge is a most unique Lodge. It is international in character, because it includes as members many active duty military personnel from many nations assigned to posts throughout the four corners of the globe. The sun never sets on our membership. Hancock Lodge is also unique, because it is the only Masonic Lodge housed in a Masonically owned Temple on a military reservation in the United States. The construction of Colonel Daniel H. Boughton Memorial Hall was authorized by an Act of Congress approved on 11 July 1919 for the Fiscal Year ending in 30 June 1920. It is difficult to determine where meetings were held prior to the construction of Boughton Memorial Hall; the minutes simply state “Hall of Hancock Lodge”. The minutes of 7 April 1908 state that a “Revocable License” was issued, by the Secretary of War, for the Lodge to occupy the second story of the Quartermasters Building #102. Building #102 which was built in 1859, is currently named Stotsenburg Hall and is occupied by the Post Finance.